Thread: a fiddle tune

Default a fiddle tune

I really wrote this one for the fiddle. I don't play but I know a few folks that do. BTW, I tried but I'm a lefty who plays right. I thought I'd have a leg up but when I picked it up, I naturally grabbed the bow with my left hand. My right hand didn't know what to do so I wasn't going to have much of a headstart. Besides, the posture felt really awkward and uncomfortable. I concluded I wasn't meant to be a fiddler. Really, I don't know how you fiddlers do it. Anyway, here's "The New Plow":CD2E1900_0.mp3

Default Re: a fiddle tune

Awesome!!!............I really like that.
    I've been really impressed with the talent on this site...........I'll try not to drag it down.

I've been playing fiddle for a few years now and I still don't know how they do it either.

Quote Originally Posted by Young Will View Post
    Awesome!!!............I really like that.
    I've been really impressed with the talent on this site...........I'll try not to drag it down.

I've been playing fiddle for a few years now and I still don't know how they do it either.

Hey Mandolirius,

Have you put it into Tabledit?
    Jim Nikora

And the hits keep on coming! And another good one, sounds like a modern fiddle tune with that nice arrangement.

Quote Originally Posted by jnikora View Post
    Hey Mandolirius,

Have you put it into Tabledit?
    No. In fact, I'm not even sure of what that is. I've never been a tab user.

Very nice Michael. I like how the A part digs down and plows out to the celebration in the B part.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Bunting View Post
    And the hits keep on coming! And another good one, sounds like a modern fiddle tune with that nice arrangement.
    Thanks Mike. The arrangement was the thing I liked best. It's hard to present fiddle tunes in interesting ways. That's not to say there's anything wrong with just playing the tune, but good arranging is important if you're doing all instrumental music.