Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why do we get such odd responses to ads?

Default Why do we get such odd responses to ads?

I have wondered about this for years. I will place a ad give a price say $1000 or OBO. I think we all know that OBO is or best offer. Someone will visit and ask "what is your cheapest price?" What part of "offer" did they miss. Not once have any of these people actually made the sale. Now days with internet sales I still get the "what is your cheapest price?" in email responses. I tell them politely I have made the ad with a price I want, if you chose to you are welcome to make a offer.

As any savvy person who wants to make a sale I research and see the going price on a object. I have been selling Mandolins for a couple decades and know the value anyway. But there is always someone trying to tell me the running price on a Gibson model to be $500 when in fact a used one in that model in good condition is worth $2000, and new retail to be $5000.

I understand we all want a deal, I use every advantage I can when purchasing. But I never make insulting offers. If I see something I like and the price is near what I want I may make a offer, sometimes the price is good enough I just pay it. But if the price is far too much I pass on even talking to them.

Odd as well where they respond with questions already addressed. Ask the year, and the year is stated in title and description. State up front not interested in trades and they will keep pushing a trade. I had one person who kept wanting me to throw in some cash to trade their Kentucky toward my Flatiron Performer F5.

Why do we get odd responses to ads?
    Gibson A9
    Eastman 804D two point, blonde

Nothing is fool proof for a talented fool

Default Re: Why do we get such odd responses to ads?

Tom, are you talking about Cafe ads, or Craigslist?

Most replies I get to Cafe ads are from reasonably sane people. Ads I place elsewhere (CL in particular) seem to attract some cranky people.