Thread: Spann's Guide To Gibson 1902-1941

Blog Entries

Default Spann's Guide To Gibson 1902-1941

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	51y0CE2toDL._SS500_.jpg 
Views:	513 
Size:	37.1 KB 
ID:	70713

Some of this information has appeared elsewhere on the web but I just heard about it and spoke with the author on the phone today. Spann's Guide To Gibson 1902-1941 is a 300 page book set to be published around the first of May and contains a lot of information I think many of us will be interested in reading. From what I gather, there are quite a few missing pieces of the Gibson puzzle that will be presented here. Just one piece of that is the names of most of the employees pre-WWII and of course with that comes some first-hand information. Joe is a genealogist by profession.

Here's a list of the contents of the book Joe (Spann) sent me:

Table of Contents:

Acknowledgements Page iii
    Introduction Page iv
    Chapter 1 - The Factory Page 1
    Chapter 2 - The Employees Page 13
    Chapter 3 – Vendors: 1925 - 1931 Page 45
    Chapter 4 - Factory Order Numbers Page 63
    Chapter 5 - Serial Numbers Page 189
    Chapter 6 - Dealers & Wholesalers Page 193
    Chapter 7 - Teacher-Agents Page 225
    Chapter 8 - Artists & Endorsers Page 235
    Chapter 9 - The Instruments Page 251
    Appendix A – Gibson Banjo Models (1919-1941) Page 265
    Appendix B – Gibson Production Totals Page 285
    Appendix C – 1941 Production Costs Page 286
    Appendix D – Gibson Ephemera Page 287
    Sources Page 295

At the end there are eight pages of color photographs which show a small portion of Steve Huber's collection of rare Gibson ephemera.

There are 24 charts included, as listed here:

Gibson Employees: 1915 – 1945
    Factory Order Numbers: 1902 – 1916 Series
    Factory Order Numbers: 1917 – 1923 Series
    Factory Order Numbers: 1924 – 1925 Series
    Factory Order Numbers: 1925 Banjo Series
    Factory Order Numbers: 1925 – 1931 Series