Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who here picks Big Sciota?

Default Who here picks Big Sciota?

I love this number. When I intro it a jam, I get the blank stare half the time, like it's too hard or something. It ain't. When I knocked on the LRB bus door and got up with Randy, this is what we picked. He and I nailed it, with hip variations, judging by the crowd we got.

Try it, you'll like it!

Default Re: Who here picks Big Sciota?

Check out the version on Skip, Hop, and Wobble by Jerry Douglas, Russ Barenberg, & Edgar Meyer. It's mind-blowing.
    PJ Doland
    1923 Gibson Snakehead A

Originally it was an old time tune. I have been playing it for over 20 years. I think the bluegrass community might have discovered and adapted it more recently. Just my guess. great tune in whatever genre.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

mandolin slinger Steve Ostrander's Avatar

I've heard Butch's version. It's fabulous.
    Living’ in the Mitten

I think Skip, Hop, and Wobble was the first recording of it in the "bluegrass" realm, right? We played it last night at our monthly bluegrass jam for the first time. I was stoked to play it as it has been one that I've been working into my repertoire for some time.

Check out week #7 on the Song-a-week group. Lot's of fine versions...but skip over mine. That was a different time and place and I've become a better picker since then!!!....Enjoy!

I really enjoy Brian Ray's (dasspunk) "Monroeish" version here:

And the non-Monroeish version by Thile (with his then new Loar) and Pikelny:

Great tune!

Love it. Great fiddle tune