Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pentatonic Scale for Idiots

Default Pentatonic Scale for Idiots

I have been playing guitar for many years and the OM for about a month. I understand notes, chords, progressions etc. I can transpose chords and had no trouble learning chords on the OM. I can strum along with most of the songs when my wife plays the fiddle. After reading some of the posts on this thread I know that most of you are way out of my league in music theory.

Throughtout the years I have tried to understand the pentatonic scale and still have no clue. I know that the pentatonic scale starting in C is C D E A G C OK. So what does that mean for me, an amatuer picker? Some of the explanations I have read just make me laugh. For example Wiki (I know... don't go to Wiki):

"Proceeding by the principle that historically gives the Pythagorean diatonic and chromatic scales, stacking perfect fifths with 3:2 frequency proportions, the anhemitonic pentatonic scale can be tuned thus; 64:72:81:96:108. Considering the anhemitonic scale as a subset of a just diatonic scale, it is tuned thus; 24:27:30:36:40. Assigning precise frequency proportions to the pentatonic scales of most cultures is problematic."

Right... Anyone care to to take a stab at explaining it to a musically challenged music lover?

Default Re: Pentatonic Scale for Idiots

Quote Originally Posted by jlavkuli View Post
    I have been playing guitar for many years and the OM for about a month. I understand notes, chords, progressions etc. I can transpose chords and had no trouble learning chords on the OM. I can strum along with most of the songs when my wife plays the fiddle. After reading some of the posts on this thread I know that most of you are way out of my league in music theory.