Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: String Bending

Default String Bending

After reading a comment on a different thread about string bending, I just realized how much I dislike string bending on a mandolin. Every time I have heard it being done, (at least in a bluegrass setting), it sounds discordant. I think the problem is that the tightness of the strings do not allow you to bend the notes to a full step or even a half a step and it just sounds cheesy. Being a former rock guitarist, I appreciate the use of string bending, especially in a blues setting, but on a mandolin not so much. Again, this is my opinion and no disrespect to those that do.
    08' Gibson Fern
    1964 Martin D-18
    www.potterswheelgospel.com

Default Re: String Bending

Anybody that regularly bends J74s, must have quite the paws.

Yes, for some reason, i think a slide sounds better than a bend on a mandolin.

Slight bends are sometimes used with Monroe style playing, but I agree, you can't bend them up too much or it usually sounds terrible. I've heard a few exceptions to that though with a couple of great blues players. I can't do it well.

Hard to get both strings to bend exactly the same amount, so you get dissonance easily. Some of the blues mandolinists used alternative, "slack" tunings -- bass E instead of bass G, e.g. -- which may have facilitated more musical bends.
    Allen Hopkins
    Gibsn: '54 F5 3pt F2 A-N Custm K1 m'cello
    Natl Triolian Dobro mando
    Victoria b-back Merrill alumnm b-back
    H-O mandolinetto
    Stradolin Vega banjolin
    Sobell'dola Washburn b-back'dola
    Eastmn: 615'dola 805 m'cello
    Flatiron 3K OM

There are some who do it convincingly - Tim O., Sam B. and Dawg - but haven't heard too many others. And seems the A string is most often the target.

Well, then there is Tiny Moore, and Johnny Gimble, and...

......and John Duffey!

Mike Compton's intro to "I'll be rested"!
    Tim O'Brien's ending of "Untold stories"!