Thread: Proper fingering?

Default Proper fingering?

My first post here, so please forgive me if this is something that has been covered before.

I'm having difficulty playing an A chord, specifically moving from a D chord. The book I'm studying from suggests playing the A chord with my ring finger on the second course, which is giving me a heck of a time. I notice I'm able to hit the A chord right away and with much more clarity using my pinky finger to hit that particular note.

As I've only been playing mandolin for roughly two days, I figured I had better consult with wiser heads before I get too far down the wrong path technique wise.

I appreciate any advice you can offer!

-Kyle

Default Re: Proper fingering?

Which A chord did you mean, Kyle? Sometimes chord books suggest you leave a finger free so that it can add different kinds of 7ths on jazz chords... but if you're only two days in, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Which book, by the way?

Ah, sorry about that. I'm not really sure how to classify it because I'm still just getting into the theory of music. The book (Beginning Mandolin, by Greg Horne) suggests playing this open A chord with my pointer finger on the 2nd fret of the G string, my middle finger on the 2nd fret of the D string, my ring finger on the 4th fret of the A string, and the E string is played open.

Looking at the chord forms in the back of the book, I see a few chords where I'll need all four of my fingers at once, so I suppose I'll have to tough it out and learn to hold this A chord as the diagram suggests.