Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: scales

Los Angeles, CA... Formerly Westchester, NY

Default scales

Hey all! I have been playing guitar for about 14 years, dont know a whole lot about theory though. I bought a mandolin recently and i have been practicing for at least 10-15 hours a week and i am progressing very well.

However i can only find a few scales here and there online. I have the G pentatonic down pretty well but thats about it.

Any books i can buy or web links would be greatly appreciated!

Default Re: scales

The good thing about mando is that the scale patterns are consistent, whereas on guitar they are not. Since you have the G pentatonic down, have you considered trying it in all the other keys?
    Brian

Link on the cafe homepage to jazzmando. Find the FFcP and have at it.
    dwight in NC

Quote Originally Posted by geeterpicker View Post
    The good thing about mando is that the scale patterns are consistent, whereas on guitar they are not. Since you have the G pentatonic down, have you considered trying it in all the other keys?

so basically i can just move the same pattern up the neck and that will work?

Blog Entries

That's the mandolinists and violinists dirty little secret.
    It's why we always love calling tunes in Bb.
    If anyone tells you it's "because it sits really well with most male voices" that's just the cover story.
    It's because it messes with the guitarist's head.

So learn the major chord pattern and start it off on the root note, then just pick another root note and you're away in that key.
    For improvising just use the pentatonic scale to play it safe until you get confident.
    Then learn the minor, blues patterns etc. and while it's not the whole game, you've just learned a whole chunk of ways to improvise on a mandolin.
    Eoin

"Forget that anyone is listening to you and always listen to yourself" - Fryderyk Chopin