Thread: Experimenting with Mando on Steroids ?

I am so new to Mandos that "Newbie" isn't even close... I need to throw out an idea... You purists will ask what is he doing "this" for, but the adventurous types will see where this is going quickly...

I have a VERY unusual tuning request... Plz keep in mind I have never played a Mandolin in my life...

I started playing the 5 string Banjo, I got rid of the drone 5th string as all I want to do is play chords not pick individual notes like most banjo players...

I mastered the right hand 3 finger style in a roll that hits all 4 strings, no biggie there... Here comes the cool part...

I found that in addition to strumming all 4 strings like Dixie Land style I could play all 4 strings in successive rolls and cover all the notes of any chord, (i.e.) no full strum, just repeated roll patterns while changing chords with my left hand...
    Speeding up and slowing down with the music… Problem was I needed more room for my fingers up top cuz they are fat and short...

So rather than buy a custom wide neck banjo, I bought an Ovation Celebrity CC026 6 string guitar and got rid of the 2 heaviest strings... I liked the feel of Radiused necks also, and the Ovations have a 10" constant fretboard radius...

I tuned it down to a CGBD or "C Tuning" when I found the "Open G tuning really wasn't made for playing chords, but picking... The C Tuning was easier to play chords and the voice was cool enough, but many of the chords have to far a stretch, with my short fingers...

Now we are getting to the real reason I posted here on a Mando site:

I found that the of the 6 string minus 2 strings had a "voice “ like a Ukulele on steroids... Great Uke sound, but lacking still the same... Fun to learn on, but I wanted to push the envelope...