Thread: German Concert Mandolin- design ideas etc.

Smile German Concert Mandolin- design ideas etc.

Hello! I am a frequent visitor but this is my first thread.

I am a builder currently developing a German-style concert mandolin design. I am particularly inspired by the work of Seiffert, and the many European makers who have developed his ideas.

My question is, would anyone with such an instrument be willing to post sound files, photos, and suggestions/recommendations regarding playability and tone?

I have just completed an instrument using the approximate size and shape I would like to use, but for nylon strings (and fretless! for middle eastern music; like a mini oud). I will post some photos to give you an idea of my style.

Any suggestions help- thanks in advance!

-Josh Humphrey
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2980.jpg 
Views:	260 
Size:	278.1 KB 
ID:	92617Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2981.jpg 
Views:	236 
Size:	148.3 KB 
ID:	92618Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2982.jpg 
Views:	222 
Size:	147.9 KB 
ID:	92619Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2983.jpg 
Views:	249 
Size:	285.5 KB 
ID:	92620Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2984.jpg 
Views:	233 
Size:	274.0 KB 
ID:	92621Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2985.jpg 
Views:	282 
Size:	247.2 KB 
ID:	92622

Default Re: German Concert Mandolin- design ideas etc.

If you'd appreciate the impressions of an oil painter gone rogue, I can state that it's like painting a picture from a photo. One must make sure that the photo is worthy of whatever designs YOU would have for its use. I'm curious though. What good would someone posting a sound file do you? I'd be interested in hearing a sound file of THIS ONE and I'm guessing it would make for a major headache to have to be consistently tweaking pegs in an attempt to keep it tuned. Other than that, it's a beautiful design. -h

Hi Josh,

Very nice work, judging by the photos!