Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fingertip Callouses (a theory)

Default Fingertip Callouses (a theory)

Ok, so I have been practicing this method for a few years with success. This theory stemmed from rock climbing, where callouses that would build up would get ripped off by way of sharp rock and leave you with raw, sometimes bleeding skin. To deal with this, we would sand down the callouses so they would not build up and come off.

I had always heard rumors of some string players getting such tough callouses that they would peel off and then super glue them back onto their finger to keep playing for the night.

So I figured, that when my finger tip callouses got really hard I would sand them down a bit. I know this sounds contradictory, but in reality, you are removing the dead skin. Follow me here, once you removed the dead skin, you are left with new skin BUT the new skin has been 'trained' to be tougher so you will no longer build up 'callouses' but you will have supple 'tough' skin that is not hard but mailable.

This is a regular 'maintenance' that I do when I start to feel my finger tips getting tough skin. So instead of letting it build up and come off all at once, I'm removing it regularly so it never builds up.

I just think of skin like a muscle, you CAN build up strength.

Just wanted to put this out there for others to see and comment on.

Default Re: Fingertip Callouses (a theory)