Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: $15 picks?

Formerly "Porschefan" Stephen Porter's Avatar

Default $15 picks?

Wow...I'm a newb, but....? Is this my first glimpse into the dark side of mandolin ownership? And these are used!

Blue Chip Mandolin Picks

(Just looked up new ones are $35 ea. I guess that would be the cure for any tendency to lose picks.)

At least they've named one after me: the "STP50"

Seriously, maybe I'm missing something about how great a pick can be?

STP

Default Re: $15 picks?

Probably not that great if you're a newb. Once a person develops more technique in their right hand, subtle differences like picks can make a big difference. For beginners, just make sure you've got a hard pick (1mm or thicker).

even after my non virtuoso 30 years, 1.50 Dawg picks is as High as I Go..

But heck if the car you consider adequate has to be a Porsche.

knock your self out..
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

4. The following members say thank you to mandroid for this post:

Well if you will do the search feature here for "blue chip picks" then up should pop about 66 pages of actual testimonials of how the blue chip pick saved their pee picking lives. These picks are not for the weak and misunderstanding. Nor are they for the cheap and "my glass is half empty" pickers either. These are for the real honest "geter' done" pickers that are serious about their sound and how a pick reacts and interacts with the approach as you attack the strings for maxiumn playabilty and tone. It will be the best $35 you ever spent for your mandolin ($15 if you can snag a used one but they are pretty rare).
    PS: If you can afford to own and drive a Porsche you should be able to buy a $35 pick without a second thought. From one Porsche owner to another!

6. The following members say thank you to f5loar for this post:

It'll be the last pick you'd ever buy or need, and the best $35 you'd spend to improve your playing and tone.