Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello! From the uk

Default Hello! From the uk

Hi everyone, just wanted to share my experiences over the last 8 weeks. I'm totally new to the mandolin but it seems to have taken over a huge part of my life. From discovering Chris Thile's "not all who wonder" album to buying all the mike Marshall DVD's, through to being blown away by Sam Bush's rhythm playing and musicianship. My 8 week journey has lead me so far to learn, Fishers horn pipe, Billy in the low ground, blackberry blossom, ode to a butterfly and hop the fence, I've discovered Blue chip picks and TAMCO in Brighton where I bought my new (used) summit artist. Trevor opened up the shop for me on Monday and let me try out about 10 mandolins.

I was close to buying the Triggs F5 but something about the Summit made me fall in love with it!

Yesterday I watched "how to grow a band" the film about the punch brothers, I was blown away by the last concert in New York, I have just never heard anything so beautiful, everyone in the band had a voice and the music just gripped me start to end.

My only regret is that I didn't take up this beautiful instrument when I was 8 yrs old! Being from the UK I'd love to meet some players who share my new found love of bluegrass music, I'd love to go to some festivals or even meet up to play some tunes, I'm in the Surrey area.

I'd also like to say this is a wonderful resource full of amazing people with great knowledge and enthusiasm, I hope to be able to join in with the discussions!

A little about my background: I have been playing guitar since I was 18, I'm now 38, I have a BA hons degree in jazz studies and I am currently the guitarist on a west end musical in London. I feel very lucky to be able to make a living from guitar, but at the moment I just want to get as good as I can and make some music on the mandolin!

Best wishes

C

Default Re: Hello! From the uk

If you are a jazzer, you'll want to check out these fellows.