Thread: Please help me choose my first mandolin!

Default Best mandolins under £300?!

Hey guys, i'm completely new here so sorry for not being so informative.

I've been playing guitar and bass for 3 years now
    I recently have been watching a lot of videos on YouTube on mandolins.
    They sound so beautiful (sorry for being cheesy) and i'm really clean on getting one to learn. But i don't want to spend a lot of money on my first, mainly because i'm only 15 and don't have a lot money. Please could you list be some mandolins which you think are worth getting?

Thanks.
    Last edited by JEStanek; Aug-20-2013 at 10:27am. Reason: removed age reference

Default Please help me choose my first mandolin!

Hey guys, i'm completely new here so sorry for not being so informative.

I've been playing guitar and bass for 3 years now
    I recently have been watching a lot of videos on YouTube on mandolins.
    They sound so beautiful (sorry for being cheesy) and i'm really clean on getting one to learn. But i don't want to spend a lot of money on my first, mainly because i'm only 15 and don't have a lot money. Please could you list be some mandolins which you think are worth getting under £300 ?

Thanks.
    Last edited by JEStanek; Aug-20-2013 at 10:27am. Reason: removed age reference

Default Re: Please help me choose my first mandolin!

That's like fixin up a buddy with a GF...taboo

Go try a few out until you find one that works best for you.

I would love to but where I live (Norfolk, uk) doesn't exactly have many guitar or mandolin shops

seek musicians...buy them beer, test drive their instruments

First thing I might do is contact Trevor at The Acoustic Music Compay in Brighton. His store is recognized as having about the best stock of mandolins in the UK. The Hobgoblin chain of shops also carries several lines of mandolin.