Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone know of a cheap alternative to Thomastik Infelds?

Default Anyone know of a cheap alternative to Thomastik Infelds?

I've been using the thomastik infeld mediums, and I REALLY can't find any other string that even comes close. I've tried the J74s, theJ62s, the FW74s, the elixer nanowebs, and they weren't remotely comparable; they just sound drastically metallic and harsh in comparison. It doesn't feel good to play them either. The problem is, I'm a poor college student and I can't afford to keep buying infelds.

Has anyone come across a set of strings that feels similar to the infelds but doesn't come with the high price?
    Gibson F-5G

Default Re: Anyone know of a cheap alternative to Thomastik Infelds?

I've heard good reports about the JazzMando JM-1 flatwounds.

Scott

Mandolin Botherer Shelagh Moore's Avatar

I've heard good reports about the JazzMando JM-1 flatwounds.
    Yes, I've been using those too... but, unfortunately, they're not available any more.

Perhaps something like the Fisoma (Lenzner) Supersolo? They are available in three gauges.

That's bad news about the JazzMando JM11s, which were very good strings.

However, I believe the JazzMandos were made by Labella, whose flatwounds are still available at some dealers such as JustStrings

By cleaning my strings after every use and applying regular doses of Fast Fret, I made my JM11s last forever.

ron

-- when you say they aren't avaliable anymore-- is Ted stopping production forever, or, is he just taking a break?
    I really love the sound and feel of the JM11's, when I read that on the website, I was actually quite sad I hadn't bought more.

♪☮♫ Roll away the dew ♪☮♫ Dan Krhla's Avatar

I loved the Labellas when I was doing flat wound stuff. Elderly used to have them too.
    do good things